red


In recent past, my life has been consumed mostly by football. (Not to be confused with my appearance at all). Other than of course the institution that is marriage, followed by occasional work, occupational marketing, religious choirs like Cricket and Music. I have noted that when I am not on the streets trying to avoid becoming news of any sorts, I am usually thinking about Football. When I say Football, I mean Liverpool Football Club.

During the season, it’s all about Premier League position, European qualification, injuries, heartaches and regular banter with other fans (read mostly Manchester United Fans). In these days during off season, it’s about transfers, more transfers, and raising expectations of nailing next season.

It’s funny how it all began. Funny as in Pun intended, not ‘ha ha’ funny.

It was June’ 1998, andFrance was hosting World Cup. As a 20 year old, I was slumbering on a sofa whenEngland vs Argentina game kicked off. I wasn’t really supporting any team, but had a slight preference towards South Americans being a forever Maradona follower. What I saw was an enthralling and incident packed game. Match belonged to Argentina after a penalty shoot out, and but it is a game remembered either for David Beckam’s red card or ‘that’ goal by someone who went on to become Liverpool Golden Boy. The teenage striker picked up a pass deep in Argentina’s half, beat Jose Chamot and Roberto Ayala with his bewildering pace and then coolly curled the ball past keeper Carlos Roa. All he did between collecting the ball and shooting was run fast, and very fast. It made me sit up and think ‘whoa, who is this boy?’ I knew I have become a fan instantly. So I followed his progress in Premier league and little I knew, it would be beginning of my affair with Liverpool. Ever since then, I have been a ‘Red’ as they say.

That rascal, turned from a ‘red’ to ‘red devil’. Michael Owen, now plays for Manchester United.

3 responses to “red

Leave a Reply

